Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

October 10, 2024

The Honorable Chuck Schumer Majority Leader 322 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Leaders Schumer and McConnell,

In the wake of the disaster caused by Hurricane Helene across the southeastern United States, we urge you to swiftly bring the bipartisan Federal Disaster Tax Relief Act of 2023 (H.R. 5863) for expeditious consideration in the Senate. Hurricane Helene's devastating aftermath stresses the need for the Senate to act now and deliver much needed relief to disaster victims.

Hurricane Helene has caused some of the greatest devastation the southeastern United States has ever seen. More than 200 Americans have lost their lives and communities are searching for hundreds of missing people. The immediate recovery efforts are underway, and it will be years before families and communities recover, though never truly whole again after such a horrific loss of life.

Congress must take action so that American families are able to rebuild after Hurricane Helene. We recognize the urgency to aid immediate ground operations for lifesaving efforts and to restore power, transportation, sanitation, and other important means. As individuals and families recover from this disaster, it is important that we provide them with tax relief. In addition to victims of Helene, this bill would provide relief to millions of others affected by more than 300 other major disasters declared by President Biden.

Through no fault of their own, many of our constituents have incurred thousands of dollars in disaster-related expenses. Many others are also facing unfair tax burdens as a result of being taxed on rightful compensation from being the victim of a wildfire disaster. Victims of the East Palestine, Ohio train derailment on February 3, 2023 also need relief.

This piece of legislation passed the Ways & Means Committee unanimously on November 2, 2023 and passed the House of Representatives on May 21, 2024 by a vote of 382-7 after a vote was forced through a historic discharge petition.

As respective leaders, you have the opportunity to act immediately to provide needed relief to millions of Americans in our districts, including the countless individuals affected by Hurricane Helene. It is our sincere hope that you will take up the Federal Disaster Tax Relief of 2023 on unanimous consent to swiftly pass this bill so the President can sign it into law quickly.

Sincerely,

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa Member of Congress

Byron Donalds Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Chuck Edwards
Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs

Member of Congress

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress Milli Skonpon

Mike Thompson
Member of Congress

J**ili** Tokuda

Member of Congress

Panny d. Paris

N Tokula

Danny K. Davis
Member of Congress

James C. Moylan Member of Congress

Andrew S. Clyde

Member of Congress

Jasmine Crockett
Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio

Member of Congress





Ed Case Member of Congress

A. Drew Ferguson IV Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Michael Waltz
Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Jeff Jackson Member of Congress

Michael A. Rulli Member of Congress

Eric Sorensen
Member of Congress

Jonathan L. Jackson Member of Congress Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Mark Takano

Member of Congress

Mark Jahan

Lois Frankel

Member of Congress

Mary Sattler Peltola

May Sattles Peltola

LKM_

Member of Congress

Deborah K. Ross

Member of Congress

Diana Harshbarger

Diana Harshbarger

Member of Congress

Mike Levin

Member of Congress

Mario Diaz-Balart Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Jim Costa

Member of Congress

Michael V. Lawler Member of Congress

Patrick Ryan

Member of Congress

Lauren Underwood Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr.

Lauren Underwich

Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff
Member of Congress

Gregory F. Murphy, M.D. Member of Congress

John H. Rutherford Member of Congress

Sylvia R. Garcia
Member of Congress

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier
Member of Congress

Matt Gaetz
Member of Congress

Mossy Houlahan

Chrissy Houlahan

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Donald G. Davis Member of Congress

Stephanie Bice Member of Congress

phanied Bice

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

ana Dallate

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi
Member of Congress

nmy Panetta

Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D.

Member of Congress